Tuesday, 30 December 2008
Upper Largo Parish East Neuk of Fife Scotland
Upper Largo Parish, East Neuk of Fife, Scotland. " Largo is bounded by the parishes of Kilconquhar, Newburn, Ceres and Scoonie. It contains the villages of Upper Largo, Lower Largo, Lundin Mill and New Gilston. It is about four miles north to south and three miles in breadth. To the west of Largo Law, a deeply wooded ravine, Keil’s Den, intersects the parish from north to south. It is laid out with footpaths and is very picturesque, so is a favourite resort for all those who visit in the summer for sea bathing. The village of Lower Largo stands on the bay. Most of the houses have a decaying look, being mostly built from red sandstone taken from the sea. In old times a large trade was carried on here with Holland, and more recently Norway, but that is long at an end. Upper Largo is a well-built village with a number of good houses and shops. There is an institution in the village called Wood’s Hospital, for the maintenance of indigent persons of the name of Wood. Both Upper and Lower Largo are favourite resorts for sea bathing. The village of Lundin Mill is chiefly inhabited by weavers. The village of New Gilston is chiefly inhabited by miners. A noted native of the parish was Alexander Selkirk, the prototype of Robinson Crusoe. Besides the parish church, there is a Free Church at Kirkton, and a UP Church and a Baptist Church at Lower Largo. " Edited from Westwood's Directory for the counties of Fife and Kinross published 1862.
Tour Aberdeen, Tour Edinburgh, Tour Glasgow, Tour Inverness, Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland, Rent a Cottage in Scotland. Tour Isle of Skye. Tour Scotland. Ancestry Research Scotland, Birdwatching Scotland, Guidebooks Scotland, Edinburgh Travel Guides, Coast Scotland, Guidebooks Scotland, Scotland Maps, Self Catering Scotland, Scottish Whisky, Tour Scotland.